top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeb Daniel

Where do your eggs come from?


Source:unsplash/Jakub Kapusnak


I was a vegetarian for two years until last December when I went to the German market in Birmingham with my partner.


Before eating steak for the first time I had a lot of eggs and when I say a lot- I mean sometimes three times a day.


Eggs are a great source of protein and even though I have eggs much less now as a flexitarian, I still enjoy them.


Can you believe it-my boyfriend introduced me to fried eggs last year? I never used to like them but he made them on a bagel and I couldn't resist them for much longer.


For a while, my favourite breakfast combo was two fried eggs on a bagel thin but now I just don't reach for them.


I'm far too busy making shakes and smoothies with my blender.


I discarded the eggs for my Pret granola and now I have neither. I don't know why but I currently have a peanut butter diet. I must soon get back to food other than smoothies, wraps and peanut butter concoctions.


I will try to change my ways but I am also trying to discipline myself.


Yesterday I tried mixing my honey cheerios with my brother's chocolate pillows and I could hardly bear the taste-it was too sweet.


But back to eggs, eggs, eggs.


Less than half an hour ago I heard a knock on my door from Mr Eggman. I opened and accepted an army of eggs and I wondered where my eggs come from and why we support local businesses.


Mr Eggman belongs to a business called the Cheshire Egg Co. They are about an hour's drive away.


Is an hour away still local?


I'm not sure but it can't be worse than getting caged eggs.




2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page