top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeb Daniel

Finding Work Experience/Work as a journalist part 1



Work experience is hard to find but necessary as a journalist. Journalism is competitive so part of it is getting off your butt and applying for roles you want to get.


You need to be optimistic and persistent.


No one enjoys preparing for interviews and searching tirelessly for work experience but remember that it's not all for nothing.


Everything is for good and with finding work experience we often need to change our mindset. You won't get every role you want but you can't let that stop you from applying to a variety of roles.


Currently, I have joined the podcast team for Empoword journalism, I am excited to see where that goes. I am also part of the Christians in Media mentorship programme; I am eager to know who my mentor will be.


Besides from that, I will be looking for Summer work experience, on Wednesday I attended the Freelancing For Journalists work experience zoom. They have sent attendees a file with contacts for work experience. I am researching my selected contacts as advised before sending them an email.


My tip of the day for finding work experience is to go on Twitter regularly. Let me tell you a little secret- I used to hardly go on Twitter but now I go on at least once a day because if you don't go on Twitter, you miss out.






3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page