top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeb Daniel

Birmingham Based Christmas Cards

Brummie Christmas card maker says that it is not talent but hardwork that has made him successful.


Brindley Place in Birmingham by Milan Topalovic

Milan Topalovic, a known illustrator in Birmingham, grew up watching 90s TV shows, which has influenced his craft.

He said: “Watching 90s kid shows and thinking how do I tell my own story with that, how do I do it in my way. I have always liked drawing. When I was 6–8,I wasn’t good at drawing but I think it’s about having the will to go ‘how do I change it, how do I make it my own’ that’s why I started drawing more and more pictures.”

Topalovic said that no one discouraged him to not do art but did say that people asked what he was going to do with his art degree.

He also said that there are several pathways an artist can take such as design, fashion and photography.

He said:“It was difficult for me to argue back as it sounded like a jiving question, but these days when people ask me that, I say as soon as you open your eyes, anything that you can see is what you can do with art. Go to a supermarket, every single bit of packing has got artwork on it.”

Milan Topalovic said that even though people asked him what he would do with art, he said that they were also happy that he was doing art rather than a 9–5 job.

He said:“The stigma is when people say 9–5 it’s a dead end job, it’s something that pays the bills. I never wanted to be someone that did something just to pay the bills. I wanted to do something completely different.”

Topalovic said that talent is all about willpower and being hard working.

“In terms of talent, I always say if you want to do it, you will do it. You don’t need to be a superhero. You don’t need to be a rocket scientist or incredibly academic. I wasn’t naturally academic; I just worked hard.”

Topalovic said that when he graduated univeristy in 2010, he went from having a first to going back to zero as he didn’t have any contacts or business ideas.

‘Talent will only take you so far… I don’t think I’m naturally gifted, I just work hard to work out how other people’s drawings are made to be stunning. I am trying to work hard to nourish myself to do my own thing.”

Milan Topalovic’s illustrations can take up to 100 hours to complete.

He considers his Christmas cards to be ‘nice work.’ as it what he enjoys doing.

Milan’s Christmas cards are unique as they are based on specific locations in Birmingham such as Bournville, where Cadbury World is located.

His artwork isn’t just Birmingham-based; some of his cards bring areas in NYC and Paris to life, so his illustrations are available for the wider public outside of Birmingham.

To find more about Milan’s illustrations or to buy some of his Christmas Cards click on this link.




8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page