top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeb Daniel

Accidental fires - stories of the potentially accident prone


Source: @Dave Hoefler

My friend Jaquiey almost set her house on fire yesterday whilst tending to her garden.

I was spending the day with my friend Jacquiey earlier today and she had mentioned an unfortunate situation that had occurred the day before . We call it a ‘difficulty.’


What happened?


“I was weeding my garden and I used a weed-burner.”


I always thought of Jacquiey as sensible but she told me that in that moment she didn’t think.


You see weed-burners are flammable and if you’re not too careful you might set your house on fire . That’s what happened to my dear friend . Unfortunately, her husband was fast asleep . Fortunately, an off-duty fireman had knocked on her door . Unfortunately, he had run out of water .


Like the fast thinker she’s known to be Jacquiey used her garden hose to set the fire out .


However, you would be wrong to think that’s the end of it - some pesky neighbourhood boys had called the fire department.


She said : “They kept smiling at me as they went past . They found it so funny . I had some choice words to say about them.”


The fire department arrived and following routine they had asked to check the fire alarms but Jacquiey told them she couldn’t wake her husband (the very same one that could sleep when his house is on fire). She worried what her husband would think , she already had a ‘difficulty’ not too long ago when her car crashed.


“He already thinks I’m accident prone but he should have known me all those years ago,” she laughed.


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page